Search Articel

Sunday, June 5, 2011

Stages of Liver Disease

The liver is one of the largest organ in the human body and is essential for the proper functioning of the body. Liver to synthesize proteins, bile, acid, and cholesterol. It keeps a balance between nutrients and chemicals such as glucose, cholesterol, fat, vtamin, and hormones and helps in the excretion of many waste products such as bilirubin, cholesterol, toxins, and drugs.

There are four stages of liver damage: inflammation, fibrosis, cirrhosis, and cancer.

Liver may be inflamed due to certain conditions, use of alcohol and certain chemicals. Conditions that can cause inflammation of the liver Hepatitis B, Hepatitis C, autoimmune hepatitis, etc.. Extensive use of alcohol also causes liver inflammation. Some drugs and industrial pollutants can affect the liver. Inflammation is characterized by redness, swelling, heat and pain may be in the liver.

The second stage of liver disease is fibrosis or scar tissue. After a heart inflamed for long periods of time, heart tissue to accumulate. At this stage, liver function slowly declined.

The third stage of liver disease called cirrhosis. When the liver has been damaged by inflammation and fibrosis, are not functioning properly. Accumulation of scar tissue blood flow through the liver, can be damaged gradually and did not even function normally. Some of the symptoms of cirrhosis is the final stage of edema, bruising and bleeding, jaundice, gallstones, and increased toxins in the blood, blood vessels dilate, and diabetes.

If liver disease is not treated within three early stages, cancer can develop. Liver cancer or hepatocellular carcinoma, affecting about 4% of patients with cirrhosis. A liver transplant is one option to treat liver cancer.

Related Articles

0 komentar:

Post a Comment

Thanks and have a nice day

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...